Make this research yours. Add it to a free WorldbyFlow workbench to run follow-ups, ask questions, and re-check it as events move.
Add to your workbench — free
WorldbyFlowStructured Research
Generated August 8, 2026· defense· 20 sources

Money Map: Navy Submarine and Battleship Shipbuilding Contracts

Follow the Money
Who Really Profits
The dollars flow almost entirely to two incumbent shipbuilders operating at fixed, workforce-constrained capacity, so new contract awards are increasingly buying queue position and price escalation rather than added ships — the Navy is paying more per hull to the same two yards without a proven path to building faster.
Total at Stake$76.6B obligated for submarines (US Navy, July 29, 2026 announcement) plus an estimated $275B for 15 Trump-class battleships through 2056 (CBO, August 5, 2026) — CBO's own program is separately estimated at up to $455B–$528B for a larger 25-ship fleet

Overview

This traces the $76.6B July 2026 submarine award to General Dynamics Electric Boat and HII-Newport News, alongside the CBO's $275B Trump-class ('Golden Fleet') battleship cost estimate, to determine whether the money expands physical shipyard capacity or simply books more federal backlog against a constrained industrial base.

Brief

The Department of War's July 2026 award routes $76.6 billion to exactly two prime contractors: General Dynamics Electric Boat and HII's Newport News Shipbuilding. The breakdown is $42.1 billion for nine Virginia-class Block VI attack submarines plus material for a tenth hull, $29.5 billion for five Columbia-class Build II ballistic-missile submarines, and $5 billion earmarked for shipyard productivity and industrial-base investment. This is new money chasing an old bottleneck: the actual Virginia-class production rate has been limited to roughly 1.2 boats per year since 2022, against a funded target of two boats per year, and Congressional Research Service reporting cited in current coverage indicates that shortfall has produced a growing backlog of boats procured but not yet built. The award itself does not certify new yards, add dry-dock capacity, or create a third submarine builder; it obligates funds against General Dynamics Electric Boat in Groton, Connecticut and HII-Newport News in Newport News, Virginia — the same two facilities that have built every Virginia and Columbia-class boat to date.
Layered on top of the submarine award is the Congressional Budget Office's assessment of the proposed Trump-class ('Golden Fleet') nuclear-powered battleship program, released in a report the CBO published in early August 2026. CBO estimates the 15-ship program at roughly $275 billion through 2056, with the lead ship at $23.4 billion and the following 14 averaging about $18 billion each — figures CBO itself flagged as highly uncertain given the program has not yet been designed. Independent Senate Budget Committee calculations, cited alongside the CBO figures, put a 25-ship fleet (the Navy's stated eventual goal) at roughly $455 billion, with CBO's own higher-cost scenario reaching as high as $528 billion. For comparison, the Navy's own budget submission had estimated $15.1 billion for a lead ship, but that figure assumed a conventionally powered design; CBO found the nuclear-powered version costs about 13 percent more than an equivalent conventional hull, which CBO priced at roughly $243 billion for the full program.
The capacity question is where the money trail gets genuinely strained. CBO's report and multiple outlets confirm that Newport News Shipbuilding — already the designated final-assembly yard for the battleship because it is the only new-construction yard certified for nuclear-powered surface ship work — is behind schedule on three aircraft carriers and on existing submarine work. The battleship's final assembly would use Dock 12, a facility currently used to build aircraft carriers, meaning the battleship program does not add a assembly line so much as compete for one that is already backlogged. Bath Iron Works and Ingalls Shipbuilding, the Navy's other two large surface-combatant builders, could fabricate hull sections and modules but hold no nuclear certification and cannot perform final assembly under current Navy certification rules. The CBO explicitly warned that adding battleship assembly to Newport News's workload could lengthen delays on the carriers and submarines already queued there.
The consequence for force planners is that both money flows land on the same finite pool of skilled labor, dry-dock space, and nuclear-certified assembly capacity. The $5 billion submarine productivity carve-out and separate maritime industrial-base funding lines are explicitly intended to expand throughput, but the production-rate data available so far shows the investment has not yet moved the needle: multiple 2026 reports note the Virginia-class recovery date, once targeted for 2028, has slipped toward 2032 in some assessments, even as billions in additional funding have been obligated. Layering a $275–528 billion battleship program onto a yard already absorbing carrier and submarine delays raises a structural question CBO itself posed: whether the Navy's shipbuilding budget growth (procurement for surface combatants alone is set to rise from about $11 billion in 2025 to about $18 billion in 2027, per CBO's report) is buying additional ships, or buying the same fixed capacity a higher price tag.

Money Flows (10)

U.S. Congress / Department of WarGeneral Dynamics Electric Boat
Contract$29.5B (Columbia-class share of combined award; GDEB is prime for Columbia-class)· One-time (contract modification)High conf.
Construction of five Columbia-class Build II ballistic-missile submarines (SSBNs 828-832)
Basis: General Dynamics July 29, 2026 statement and Navy confirmation, cited by Janes and Breaking Defense
U.S. Congress / Department of WarGeneral Dynamics Electric Boat and HII Newport News Shipbuilding
Contract$42.1B (Virginia-class share of combined award)· One-time (contract modification)High conf.
Construction of nine Block VI Virginia-class attack submarines (SSNs 814-822) plus material for a tenth shipset
Basis: General Dynamics July 29, 2026 statement; Janes and USNI News reporting
U.S. Congress (including budget reconciliation funds)General Dynamics Electric Boat and HII Newport News Shipbuilding
Subsidy$5B (shipyard productivity/industrial-base investment, part of the $76.6B total)· One-timeHigh conf.
Productivity improvements and industrial infrastructure at both shipyards, intended to raise Virginia-class production rate
Basis: US Navy statement per Breaking Defense and Zona Militar reporting on the July 29, 2026 award breakdown
Department of War (FY2024-FY2026 Shipbuilding and Conversion accounts)General Dynamics Electric Boat / HII
Contract$6.4B (FY2026 SCN), $3.7B (FY2025 SCN), $1.3B (FY2025 maritime industrial base funds), $254M (FY2026 national sea-based deterrence funds), $171.1M (FY2024 SCN)· Annual (appropriated by fiscal year)High conf.
Incremental funding obligated at time of award against the larger $76.6B contract ceiling
Basis: Janes reporting, citing money obligated at time of the July 29, 2026 contract-modification award
General Dynamics Electric BoatHII Newport News Shipbuilding
ContractUndisclosed (intra-partnership workshare)· RecurringLow conf.
Division of submarine module fabrication and final assembly/delivery responsibilities between the two prime contractors
Basis: Reporting confirms the two firms operate under a decades-long partnership/teaming agreement for submarine construction, with NNS serving as delivery yard for six of the planned Virginia-class SSNs and building six module sections per Columbia-class boat; specific dollar workshare split not disclosed in available sources
U.S. Congress (via FY2027 defense authorization/appropriations)Newport News Shipbuilding (HII)
ContractUndisclosed — Navy's own lead-ship estimate was $15.1B for a conventionally powered design; CBO's nuclear-powered estimate is $23.4B for the lead ship· One-time (future program, not yet contracted)Medium conf.
Final assembly of the first Trump-class ('Golden Fleet') nuclear-powered battleship, planned for order in 2028
Basis: CBO report published August 5, 2026 (cbo.gov/publication/62644), corroborated by CNN, NYT and The Hill reporting
U.S. Congress (via FY2027-2056 defense appropriations)HII Newport News Shipbuilding (final assembly) and Bath Iron Works / Ingalls Shipbuilding (modules/sections)
Contract~$275B total program through 2056 (CBO base estimate); CBO flags a higher-cost scenario reaching $528B for a larger fleet· Recurring (annual appropriations over a 30-year build program)Medium conf.
Construction of 15 (potentially up to 25) Trump-class nuclear-powered battleships, the Navy's largest surface combatants since World War II
Basis: CBO report, August 5, 2026; Senate Budget Committee calculation of $455B for a 25-ship fleet cited by CBO's requester, Senator Merkley
Department of War procurement accounts (Surface Combatant line)Bath Iron Works (General Dynamics) and Ingalls Shipbuilding (HII)
ContractNavy total surface-combatant procurement budget rising from ~$11B (2025) to ~$18B (2027)· AnnualHigh conf.
Destroyer, frigate, and battleship-module procurement across the Navy's two established surface-combatant yards, which lack nuclear certification for final battleship assembly
Basis: CBO report as cited by CNN, August 6, 2026
Department of War (workforce/industrial-base accounts)Submarine and surface-combatant industrial base workforce (trades, suppliers, sub-tier vendors)
GrantUndisclosed at the vendor level — included within the $5B productivity carve-out and separate maritime industrial base appropriations· RecurringLow conf.
Workforce recruitment, training, and supplier-base expansion intended to raise submarine production rates toward the 2.0 and 2.33 boats/year targets
Basis: Navy statement on the July 2026 award, per Pulse2 and Defence Industry EU reporting; specific sub-tier/vendor allocations not broken out in available sources
Australia (AUKUS Pillar 1 partner)U.S. Navy / General Dynamics Electric Boat (indirect, via future FMS-style transfer)
OtherUndisclosed — reporting confirms 3-5 Virginia-class boats are to be sold to Australia beginning in the early 2030s but no confirmed transaction value in current sourcing· One-time (future transfers)Low conf.
Transfer of Virginia-class boats to Australia under the AUKUS submarine agreement, competing directly with US Navy Virginia-class demand for the same constrained production line
Basis: Congressional Research Service reporting cited via Baird Maritime and multiple outlets on AUKUS Pillar 1; the production shortfall is described as reshaping this commitment

Who Profits (3)

General Dynamics Electric Boat

How They Gain: As sole prime for the Columbia-class and co-prime for Virginia-class, it captures a fixed share of both the $29.5B Columbia and $42.1B Virginia awards regardless of whether physical output increases, since the contract obligates funding against existing backlog.
Roughly $71.6B of the combined $76.6B submarine award routes through GDEB and HII jointly, with GDEB as sole Columbia-class builder capturing the full $29.5B Columbia tranche

HII (Huntington Ingalls Industries) — Newport News Shipbuilding

How They Gain: Wins both a share of the Virginia-class award as delivery yard for six SSNs and Columbia module fabrication, and is positioned as the sole certified assembly yard for the future battleship program, giving it structural leverage over any nuclear-surface-ship money the Navy spends.
Confirmed as delivery yard for six of nine new Virginia-class boats and builder of six Columbia-class module sections per hull; also named the exclusive candidate for Trump-class final assembly worth an estimated $23.4B for the lead ship alone

Bath Iron Works (General Dynamics) and Ingalls Shipbuilding (HII)

How They Gain: Positioned to receive battleship module and section fabrication work even without nuclear certification, plus benefit from the Navy's surface-combatant procurement line growing from about $11B in 2025 to about $18B in 2027.
Surface combatant procurement budget growth of roughly $7B year-over-year per CBO, though battleship-specific module allocations to these yards remain undisclosed
Who Pays (3)

U.S. taxpayers / federal budget

How They Pay: Fund the full $76.6B submarine obligation and would fund the $275B–$528B battleship program through decades of appropriations, while CBO's own analysis says these costs land on a shipbuilding base already producing below funded rates.
Combined near-term and long-term obligation of roughly $351.6B ($76.6B submarines plus CBO's $275B battleship base case) before accounting for the higher $455B–$528B fleet-expansion scenarios

U.S. Navy carrier and submarine sustainment programs

How They Pay: Newport News Shipbuilding is already behind schedule on three Ford-class aircraft carriers and submarine work; CBO explicitly warns that adding battleship final assembly at Dock 12 — currently used for carrier construction — would extend those existing delays.
Qualitative: CBO does not attach a dollar cost to the carrier-delay spillover, but names it as a direct programmatic tradeoff

Australia (AUKUS Pillar 1 partner)

How They Pay: Relies on the same constrained Virginia-class production line — currently producing at roughly 1.2 boats per year against a funded two-per-year rate — for the 3-5 boats it is set to receive beginning in the early 2030s, meaning any further U.S. production shortfall directly delays Australia's submarine delivery.
No confirmed transaction value; risk is to delivery schedule rather than a disclosed dollar cost

What the Money Rewards

The contract structure rewards the two incumbent prime contractors for booking backlog rather than demonstrating throughput: the Navy and Congress keep obligating multi-year, multi-billion-dollar sums to Electric Boat and Newport News even as reporting confirms Virginia-class output has run below the funded two-boats-per-year rate since 2022, because there is no alternative certified supplier to redirect the money toward. The same dynamic repeats with the battleship program, where Newport News's status as the sole nuclear-certified new-construction yard hands it de facto monopoly pricing power over battleship final assembly regardless of its existing carrier and submarine delays — CBO's own cost comparison shows the nuclear-powered design costs roughly 13% more than a conventional hull of the same size, yet the Navy is proceeding with the costlier, single-source-constrained option. This entrenches a structure where congressional shipbuilding dollars flow to sunk political and industrial constituencies (Groton, Connecticut and Newport News, Virginia) rather than toward capacity diversification, even as the CBO and multiple analysts flag that money alone has not moved the underlying production-rate bottleneck.

Where the Trail Goes Dark

The exact dollar workshare split between General Dynamics Electric Boat and HII Newport News Shipbuilding under their submarine construction partnership agreement is not disclosed in available sourcing.
Without the internal split, it is not possible to independently verify how much of the $76.6B each individual prime nets, only the class-level totals the Navy released.
CBO explicitly labeled its $275B, $23.4B lead-ship, and $18B-per-follow-on-ship battleship estimates as highly uncertain, since the Trump-class design has not been finalized and no shipbuilding contract has yet been awarded for it.
Any battleship figure cited today is a pre-design cost projection, not a contracted or obligated amount, and CBO's own higher-cost scenario reaches nearly double the base estimate — a wide uncertainty band that should not be treated as a firm program cost.
The value of any future AUKUS Pillar 1 transfer of Virginia-class submarines to Australia — and how that transaction will be financed or priced — is not disclosed in current sourcing.
This leaves the true demand competing for the constrained Virginia-class production line partially unquantified, obscuring the full financial stakes of the production shortfall.
Sub-tier supplier and vendor-level allocations within the $5B shipyard productivity/workforce investment are not broken out by company or purpose in available sources.
Without vendor-level disclosure, it is not possible to verify whether the productivity funding is reaching the workforce and supply-chain bottlenecks CBO and CRS identify as the actual constraint, or is being absorbed into prime-contractor overhead.

Watch Signals

  • [Likely] Congress will hold hearings or request further CBO/GAO cost validation on the Trump-class battleship program before any FY2028 construction contract is awarded, given CBO's own uncertainty caveat and the Senate Budget Committee's request for the original analysis.
  • [Possible] The Navy's next annual shipbuilding plan update (typically released with the president's budget request) will show whether the Virginia-class production rate has moved from the reported ~1.2 boats/year baseline, serving as the clearest test of whether the $5B productivity investment is working.
  • [Possible] HII or General Dynamics quarterly earnings disclosures (10-Q/10-K filings) will show whether the $76.6B award is recognized as backlog growth versus revenue recognition tied to actual delivery milestones, which would clarify whether the money is translating into completed hulls.
  • [Unlikely] A third shipyard achieving Navy nuclear-surface-ship certification in the near term, given CBO's finding that no yard besides Newport News has performed this work in at least 40 years and that certification is a multi-year process.

Open Questions

  • Does the $5 billion shipyard productivity carve-out in the July 2026 award include measurable production-rate targets and penalties, or is it structured as unconditional infrastructure funding regardless of output?
  • What specific dollar value has been assigned, if any, to the AUKUS Pillar 1 transfer of Virginia-class submarines to Australia, and how will that transaction interact with the existing production backlog?
  • If Newport News Shipbuilding's Dock 12 is reallocated to battleship final assembly, what is the quantified schedule and cost impact on the three in-progress Ford-class carriers and the Columbia-class submarines also queued at that yard?
  • Will the Trump-class battleship program proceed as a sole-source award to Newport News, or will the Navy pursue a competitive or teaming arrangement involving Bath Iron Works and Ingalls Shipbuilding for non-nuclear sections, and how would that alter the cost distribution CBO modeled?

Background Brief

Source facts the analysis is grounded in. The → chips after each fact link to the items above that rely on it.
F1
The Navy's July 29, 2026 contract modification obligated $76.6 billion combined: $42.1 billion for nine Block VI Virginia-class submarines (plus material for a tenth) and $29.5 billion for five Columbia-class Build II submarines, awarded to General Dynamics Electric Boat and HII Newport News Shipbuilding.
This is the confirmed baseline dollar figure and recipient split that anchors every submarine-related money flow in this analysis.
VerifiedFlow 1 · Flow 2 · Flow 4
F2
Of the $76.6 billion total, $5 billion was specifically earmarked for shipyard productivity improvements and industrial infrastructure investment at both General Dynamics Electric Boat and HII Newport News Shipbuilding.
This carve-out is the only portion of the award explicitly aimed at expanding capacity rather than booking backlog, making it the key test case for whether new money changes throughput.
VerifiedFlow 3 · Flow 4 · Flow 9
F3
Under their submarine construction partnership, Newport News Shipbuilding is confirmed as the delivery yard for six of the nine new Virginia-class submarines and will construct and deliver six module sections per Columbia-class submarine.
This establishes that the two primes share workshare on a structural basis, meaning neither firm's revenue can be assessed in isolation from the other's capacity constraints.
VerifiedFlow 5
F4
CBO's August 5, 2026 report estimates the 15-ship Trump-class ('Golden Fleet') battleship program at approximately $275 billion through 2056, with the lead ship costing $23.4 billion and the following 14 ships averaging about $18 billion each.
This is the CBO's official cost baseline and is the figure driving the entire battleship side of the money map, distinct from the Navy's own lower, conventionally-powered estimate.
VerifiedFlow 6 · Flow 7
F5
HII's Newport News Shipbuilding is the only new-construction U.S. shipyard currently certified by the Navy for nuclear-powered surface ship work, and senior Navy officials have testified that battleship final assembly would occur there at Dock 12, a facility currently used to build aircraft carriers.
This confirms the single-source capacity bottleneck: battleship money cannot be redirected to alternative yards without new nuclear certification, which no yard besides Newport News has achieved in 40 years.
VerifiedFlow 6 · Flow 7 · Flow 8
F6
The Senate Budget Committee's ranking member calculated that a 25-ship battleship fleet — the size the administration has stated as its eventual goal — could cost $455 billion, while CBO's own higher-cost scenario put the program as high as $528 billion.
This shows the $275 billion figure is a floor for a 15-ship program, not a ceiling for the stated 20-25 ship ambition, meaning the total federal obligation could nearly double.
VerifiedFlow 7 · Flow 8
F7
Virginia-class submarine production has been limited to roughly 1.2 boats per year since 2022, against a funded procurement rate of two boats per year, producing a growing backlog of boats procured but not yet built.
This is the direct evidence that additional contract dollars have not yet translated into additional physical output, supporting the core question of whether the $76.6B expands capacity or merely books backlog.
VerifiedFlow 9 · Flow 10
medium uncertainty· model's epistemic confidence in this analysis

Facts & Figures (13)

The claims behind this analysis, each with its verification status — including what is contested, unverified, or could not be established.
The Navy's July 29, 2026 contract modification obligated $76.6 billion combined: $42.1 billion for nine Block VI Virginia-class submarines (plus material for a tenth) and $29.5 billion for five Columbia-class Build II submarines, awarded to General Dynamics Electric Boat and HII Newport News Shipbuilding.
This is the confirmed baseline dollar figure and recipient split that anchors every submarine-related money flow in this analysis.
GROUNDED
Of the $76.6 billion total, $5 billion was specifically earmarked for shipyard productivity improvements and industrial infrastructure investment at both General Dynamics Electric Boat and HII Newport News Shipbuilding.
This carve-out is the only portion of the award explicitly aimed at expanding capacity rather than booking backlog, making it the key test case for whether new money changes throughput.
GROUNDED
Under their submarine construction partnership, Newport News Shipbuilding is confirmed as the delivery yard for six of the nine new Virginia-class submarines and will construct and deliver six module sections per Columbia-class submarine.
This establishes that the two primes share workshare on a structural basis, meaning neither firm's revenue can be assessed in isolation from the other's capacity constraints.
GROUNDED
CBO's August 5, 2026 report estimates the 15-ship Trump-class ('Golden Fleet') battleship program at approximately $275 billion through 2056, with the lead ship costing $23.4 billion and the following 14 ships averaging about $18 billion each.
This is the CBO's official cost baseline and is the figure driving the entire battleship side of the money map, distinct from the Navy's own lower, conventionally-powered estimate.
GROUNDED
HII's Newport News Shipbuilding is the only new-construction U.S. shipyard currently certified by the Navy for nuclear-powered surface ship work, and senior Navy officials have testified that battleship final assembly would occur there at Dock 12, a facility currently used to build aircraft carriers.
This confirms the single-source capacity bottleneck: battleship money cannot be redirected to alternative yards without new nuclear certification, which no yard besides Newport News has achieved in 40 years.
GROUNDED
The Senate Budget Committee's ranking member calculated that a 25-ship battleship fleet — the size the administration has stated as its eventual goal — could cost $455 billion, while CBO's own higher-cost scenario put the program as high as $528 billion.
This shows the $275 billion figure is a floor for a 15-ship program, not a ceiling for the stated 20-25 ship ambition, meaning the total federal obligation could nearly double.
GROUNDED
Virginia-class submarine production has been limited to roughly 1.2 boats per year since 2022, against a funded procurement rate of two boats per year, producing a growing backlog of boats procured but not yet built.
This is the direct evidence that additional contract dollars have not yet translated into additional physical output, supporting the core question of whether the $76.6B expands capacity or merely books backlog.
GROUNDED
U.S. Congress / Department of War → General Dynamics Electric Boat: $29.5B (Columbia-class share of combined award; GDEB is prime for Columbia-class)
Construction of five Columbia-class Build II ballistic-missile submarines (SSBNs 828-832)
FROM THE RECORDContract · basis: General Dynamics July 29, 2026 statement and Navy confirmation, cited by Janes and Breaking Defense · One-time (contract modification) · High confidence
U.S. Congress / Department of War → General Dynamics Electric Boat and HII Newport News Shipbuilding: $42.1B (Virginia-class share of combined award)
Construction of nine Block VI Virginia-class attack submarines (SSNs 814-822) plus material for a tenth shipset
FROM THE RECORDContract · basis: General Dynamics July 29, 2026 statement; Janes and USNI News reporting · One-time (contract modification) · High confidence
U.S. Congress (including budget reconciliation funds) → General Dynamics Electric Boat and HII Newport News Shipbuilding: $5B (shipyard productivity/industrial-base investment, part of the $76.6B total)
Productivity improvements and industrial infrastructure at both shipyards, intended to raise Virginia-class production rate
FROM THE RECORDSubsidy · basis: US Navy statement per Breaking Defense and Zona Militar reporting on the July 29, 2026 award breakdown · One-time · High confidence
Department of War (FY2024-FY2026 Shipbuilding and Conversion accounts) → General Dynamics Electric Boat / HII: $6.4B (FY2026 SCN), $3.7B (FY2025 SCN), $1.3B (FY2025 maritime industrial base funds), $254M (FY2026 national sea-based deterrence funds), $171.1M (FY2024 SCN)
Incremental funding obligated at time of award against the larger $76.6B contract ceiling
FROM THE RECORDContract · basis: Janes reporting, citing money obligated at time of the July 29, 2026 contract-modification award · Annual (appropriated by fiscal year) · High confidence
U.S. Congress (via FY2027-2056 defense appropriations) → HII Newport News Shipbuilding (final assembly) and Bath Iron Works / Ingalls Shipbuilding (modules/sections): ~$275B total program through 2056 (CBO base estimate); CBO flags a higher-cost scenario reaching $528B for a larger fleet
Construction of 15 (potentially up to 25) Trump-class nuclear-powered battleships, the Navy's largest surface combatants since World War II
FROM THE RECORDContract · basis: CBO report, August 5, 2026; Senate Budget Committee calculation of $455B for a 25-ship fleet cited by CBO's requester, Senator Merkley · Recurring (annual appropriations over a 30-year build program) · Medium confidence
Department of War procurement accounts (Surface Combatant line) → Bath Iron Works (General Dynamics) and Ingalls Shipbuilding (HII): Navy total surface-combatant procurement budget rising from ~$11B (2025) to ~$18B (2027)
Destroyer, frigate, and battleship-module procurement across the Navy's two established surface-combatant yards, which lack nuclear certification for final battleship assembly
FROM THE RECORDContract · basis: CBO report as cited by CNN, August 6, 2026 · Annual · High confidence

Sources (20)

More defense research
Grounded in 20 web sources · 13 facts on the ledger · 7 verified or grounded · 6 partial or attributed · how the grades work
Analysis generated by WorldbyFlow from publicly available information. WorldbyFlow does not verify claims or endorse conclusions. New here? The two-minute overview.