Make this research yours. Add it to a free WorldbyFlow workbench to run follow-ups, ask questions, and re-check it as events move.
Add to your workbench — free
WorldbyFlowStructured Research
Generated August 12, 2026· health· 40 sources

Who Pays for International Nurse Recruitment into U.S. Hospitals

Follow the Money
Who Really Profits
International recruitment agencies and immigration law firms capture fees regardless of outcome, while hospitals bear nearly all upfront cost and risk — a structure that only pencils out because the alternative, travel-nurse premiums or vacant shifts, costs hospitals even more.
Total at StakeNot disclosed — no single aggregate figure exists for total U.S. hospital spend on international nurse recruitment; component figures (agency revenue, turnover cost, visa fees) are individually sourced below but do not sum to a reliable market-wide total

Overview

International nurse recruitment routes hospital and nurse dollars through staffing agencies, immigration attorneys, USCIS, credentialing bodies, and relocation vendors — a channel now destabilized by a $100,000 H-1B filing fee that lacks a confirmed healthcare carve-out. The money map traces who fronts the cost of importing a nurse against the alternative costs of travel-nurse premiums and unfilled shifts.

Brief

International nurse recruitment sits between two expensive alternatives for U.S. hospitals: paying an agency markup for travel nurses, or absorbing the cost of an unfilled shift. The 2026 NSI National Health Care Retention & RN Staffing Report puts the average cost of losing a single bedside RN at $60,090, with the typical hospital losing between $4.2 million and $6.2 million annually to RN turnover. Travel nurse rates averaged $91 per hour and ranged up to $160 per hour according to the same report — several times the roughly $41.38 hourly average for a staff RN cited from Bureau of Labor Statistics data. Against that backdrop, importing a nurse permanently via EB-3 or H-1B is a multi-year, multi-thousand-dollar bet that a hospital makes to convert a recurring rental cost (travel nurse markup) into a one-time acquisition cost (recruitment and immigration).
The direct-hire international pipeline runs through two visa channels. The EB-3 immigrant visa (green card) route requires the employer to cover PERM-stage attorney fees, PERM recruitment advertising, and the I-140 filing fee under Department of Labor rules — a package estimated at roughly $7,000 to $15,000 per nurse, according to immigration-cost breakdowns reviewed for 2026. The worker separately bears an estimated $3,000 to $8,000 in personal costs (I-485 fee, medical exam, biometrics, credential evaluation), though sponsorship packages increasingly have employers reimbursing some of these as a recruitment incentive. Schedule A status — the Department of Labor's designation of registered nursing as an occupation with an insufficient domestic labor supply — lets Schedule A nurses skip the PERM labor-certification step, saving the employer an estimated $5,000 to $10,000 in attorney fees and recruitment costs, but shifting roughly $1,910 to $3,395 in CGFNS/VisaScreen credential-verification costs onto the nurse.
The H-1B non-immigrant visa channel has become acutely more expensive and legally contested. USCIS raised the base I-129 petition fee from $460 to $780 and the registration fee from $10 to $215 under a 2024 rule. Far more consequential: a presidential proclamation effective September 21, 2025 imposed a $100,000 fee on new H-1B petitions. As of March 2026, healthcare employers had received no confirmed categorical exemption — a bipartisan bill (the H-1Bs for Physicians and the Healthcare Workforce Act, introduced March 17, 2026) sought to exempt nurses, physicians, and allied health workers, and a coalition of more than 100 House members separately petitioned DHS for relief, but the fee remained enforceable pending only discretionary, case-by-case waivers and unresolved litigation, including a 20-state lawsuit filed in December 2025. The practical effect reported by hospital executives, including Frederick Health's chief nursing officer describing a paused plan to sponsor up to 45 nurses on H-1B visas, is that the fee makes new H-1B nurse sponsorship cost-prohibitive for many facilities — pushing the industry further toward the slower, cheaper EB-3 track.
On top of visa costs, hospitals or their staffing intermediaries pay recruitment agency fees. Recruitment agencies bill the hiring facility directly, typically 20 to 30% of the nurse's first-year salary, according to industry sourcing. Large diversified staffing firms dominate this channel: AMN Healthcare's O'Grady Peyton International brand, the longest-standing international nurse recruitment agency in the sector, reported approximately $130.6 million in revenue, while competitor Avant Healthcare Professionals reported approximately $73.9 million in revenue and 525 employees. Historically, AMN disclosed in a 2007 SEC filing that its O'Grady Peyton international channel represented about 5% of AMN's consolidated revenue that year — evidence that international recruitment has long been a minority but persistent revenue stream layered on top of the larger domestic travel-staffing business, and that AMN's own 2001 S-1 filing emphasized the firm bears "no direct reimbursement risk" from Medicare or Medicaid because it is paid directly by hospital clients, not by public payers.
Relocation and onboarding costs — flights, temporary housing, and orientation — are typically employer-paid, with sourcing indicating rural hospitals sometimes offer packages worth $15,000 or more versus roughly $5,000 in basic travel costs at urban facilities. The entire international-recruitment bet is compared internally by hospital finance teams against the travel-nurse alternative: NSI's 2026 report notes that despite 73.5% of hospitals projecting reduced travel-staff reliance, travel and agency staffing remains a persistent fallback whenever units run short, at rates far above bedside RN pay.

Money Flows (12)

U.S. hospitals and health systemsInternational nurse staffing agencies (e.g., O'Grady Peyton International, Avant Healthcare Professionals)
FeeTypically 20–30% of the nurse's first-year salary, per placement· One-time per placementMedium conf.
Sourcing, screening, and coordinating overseas candidates and managing the placement process through licensure and immigration
Basis: Industry sourcing on international nurse staffing fee structure (Nursa facility guide, 2026)
U.S. hospitalsU.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS)
Fee$780 I-129 petition fee (up from $460); $215 H-1B registration fee (up from $10)· One-time per petitionHigh conf.
Filing and registering H-1B visa petitions for sponsored international nurses
Basis: USCIS fee rule reported by Healthcare Brew, April 2024
U.S. hospitalsU.S. Department of Homeland Security / U.S. Treasury
Fee$100,000 per new H-1B petition· One-time per new petitionHigh conf.
A supplemental federal fee on new H-1B visa petitions, with no confirmed categorical healthcare exemption as of March 2026
Basis: Presidential proclamation effective September 21, 2025, reported by AP News and multiple outlets including Advisory.com (Feb 2026) and AHA News (March 2026)
U.S. hospitalsImmigration law firms
FeeRoughly $5,000–$10,000 in PERM-stage attorney fees for EB-3 sponsorship· One-time per sponsorshipMedium conf.
Legal work on PERM labor certification, I-140 filing, and compliance for green-card-track nurse sponsorship
Basis: 2026 EB-3 cost breakdown analysis (thegreencardprep.com)
U.S. hospitalsU.S. Department of Labor / PERM recruitment advertising vendors
FeeRoughly $500–$2,500 in PERM recruitment advertising costs· One-time per sponsorshipMedium conf.
Mandatory domestic labor-market recruitment advertising required before EB-3 sponsorship, unless the nurse qualifies under Schedule A
Basis: 2026 EB-3 cost breakdown analysis (thegreencardprep.com)
Sponsored international nurseCGFNS International (credential verification body)
Fee$350–$800 for CGFNS/VisaScreen; total CGFNS-related worker cost estimated at $1,910–$3,395 under the Schedule A path· One-timeMedium conf.
Credential verification and visa-screen certification required for the nurse to obtain a U.S. work visa; some employers reimburse this as a sponsorship incentive
Basis: Nursa facility guide (2026) and EB-3 cost breakdown (thegreencardprep.com, 2026)
Sponsored international nurseUSCIS
FeeI-485 fee $1,440; biometrics $85; I-693 medical exam $200–$500· One-timeMedium conf.
Adjustment-of-status and permanent-residency processing fees legally borne by the worker under the EB-3 path
Basis: 2026 EB-3 cost breakdown analysis (thegreencardprep.com)
U.S. hospitalsRelocation and housing vendors
FeeRoughly $5,000 (urban, basic travel) to $15,000+ (rural, full package) per nurse· One-timeLow conf.
Flights, temporary housing, and orientation costs for newly arrived international nurses
Basis: Nursa facility guide (2026), qualitative sourcing on employer-paid relocation packages
U.S. hospitalsTravel/agency nurse staffing firms (as the comparative alternative)
FeeAverage $91/hour, ranging to $160/hour for travel nurse labor, vs. roughly $41.38/hour average for staff RNs· RecurringHigh conf.
Premium hourly rates paid to travel/contract nurses to fill shifts that would otherwise go vacant, the financial baseline against which international recruitment is compared
Basis: 2026 NSI National Health Care Retention & RN Staffing Report; Bureau of Labor Statistics 2024 average RN wage as cited in industry cost comparison (VSH)
U.S. hospitals (opportunity cost)No direct recipient — absorbed as operating loss
Other$60,090 average cost per bedside RN turnover; $4.2M–$6.2M annual hospital-wide loss· AnnualHigh conf.
The financial baseline cost of an unfilled RN position or turnover event that international recruitment is intended to reduce
Basis: 2026 NSI National Health Care Retention & RN Staffing Report (survey of 527 acute care hospitals across 40 states)
Nursing home/rural hospital budgetsImmigration compliance and case-by-case waiver processes at DHS
FeeUndisclosed — DHS discretionary waiver process cost not publicly itemized· UnknownLow conf.
Pursuing discretionary, case-by-case exemptions from the $100,000 H-1B fee where no categorical healthcare carve-out exists
Basis: Reported as administratively burdensome by bipartisan House letter to DHS, February 2026 (Tokuda/Bacon letter)
AMN Healthcare and competing staffing conglomeratesHospital clients (as recipient of placement services, inverse flow)
RevenueO'Grady Peyton International: ~$130.6M revenue; Avant Healthcare Professionals: ~$73.9M revenue· AnnualLow conf.
Aggregate scale of the international nurse recruitment agency business as a standalone revenue channel
Basis: ZoomInfo/RocketReach company data aggregation (2026); flagged as third-party estimate, not an SEC-filed segment figure for the current period

Who Profits (4)

International nurse staffing agencies (O'Grady Peyton International, Avant Healthcare Professionals, and similar firms)

How They Gain: Agencies collect placement fees typically equal to 20-30% of a nurse's first-year salary from the hospital regardless of how long the nurse ultimately stays, and layer on ancillary revenue from credentialing support and relocation coordination.
O'Grady Peyton International reported approximately $130.6 million in revenue; Avant Healthcare Professionals reported approximately $73.9 million in revenue, per third-party company data aggregation.

Immigration law firms specializing in healthcare visas

How They Gain: Firms bill hospitals directly for PERM labor-certification work, I-140 filings, and H-1B petition preparation, a fee stream that grows in complexity and billable hours as the $100,000 fee and litigation landscape make sponsorship legally riskier.
Roughly $5,000–$10,000 in PERM attorney fees per EB-3 sponsorship, per 2026 industry cost breakdowns.

CGFNS International and credential-verification bodies

How They Gain: Every internationally educated nurse pursuing U.S. licensure must pay for credential verification and VisaScreen certification, an unavoidable toll on the pipeline regardless of which visa route is used.
$350–$800 per VisaScreen fee, rising to $1,910–$3,395 in total CGFNS-related costs under the Schedule A pathway, per sourced 2026 cost breakdowns.

U.S. Treasury / federal government

How They Gain: The $100,000 H-1B petition fee imposed by presidential proclamation in September 2025 functions as a direct federal revenue capture on every new H-1B filing, including healthcare petitions, absent a confirmed exemption.
$100,000 per new H-1B petition where no waiver is granted, per the September 2025 proclamation as reported by AP News and multiple outlets in 2026.
Who Pays (3)

Mid-size and rural U.S. hospitals and health systems

How They Pay: These facilities front agency fees, legal fees, USCIS fees, and now potentially the $100,000 H-1B surcharge per nurse, while being least able to absorb the cost given thinner margins — Frederick Health's chief nursing officer described being unable to proceed with a plan to sponsor up to 45 nurses because of the new fee.
A single H-1B nurse hire could now cost $100,000 in federal fees alone, on top of existing agency and legal costs, per CBS News reporting on Frederick Health, Maryland.

Sponsored international nurses

How They Pay: Nurses bear personal costs for credential verification, adjustment-of-status fees, medical exams, and biometrics under the EB-3 path, and take on years of visa-backlog uncertainty and geographic/employer lock-in tied to sponsorship.
An estimated $3,000–$8,000 in personal EB-3-related costs per nurse, per 2026 industry cost breakdowns, though some employers reimburse a portion as a recruitment incentive.

Hospitals relying on travel/agency staffing as the fallback when international or domestic direct hire fails

How They Pay: When recruitment pipelines stall or vacancies persist, hospitals default to travel nurse premiums running several times the cost of staff RN pay, or absorb turnover losses directly.
Travel nurse rates averaging $91/hour (up to $160/hour) versus roughly $41.38/hour for staff RNs, and $60,090 average turnover cost per bedside RN, per the 2026 NSI report.

What the Money Rewards

The fee structure rewards staffing intermediaries and immigration-service providers regardless of long-term placement success, since agencies and attorneys are paid upfront per placement or per filing rather than on retention outcomes, while hospitals absorb all downstream risk if a nurse's visa is delayed, denied, or the fee structure changes mid-pipeline. The unresolved $100,000 H-1B fee specifically pushes hospitals toward the slower but currently cheaper EB-3 green-card track and toward large, cap-exempt academic medical centers with in-house immigration infrastructure, while smaller and rural hospitals — the facilities most dependent on international recruitment — are structurally disadvantaged by a flat per-visa fee that does not scale with facility size or margin.

Where the Trail Goes Dark

Aggregate national spend on international nurse recruitment (agency fees, legal fees, relocation) across the U.S. hospital sector
No public dataset or filing consolidates hospital-side spend on international recruitment nationally, making it impossible to verify whether the practice is net cost-saving versus travel-nurse premiums at scale rather than only in individual hospital case examples.
Actual case-by-case DHS waiver grant rate and criteria for the $100,000 H-1B fee
DHS retains discretionary authority to waive the fee 'in the national interest' but the waiver process and approval rate are not publicly disclosed, leaving hospitals unable to predict costs when budgeting international nurse sponsorships.
Individual hospital-agency contract terms, including exact fee percentages and any performance guarantees or refund clauses
Recruitment agency fee percentages are described industry-wide as 'typically 20-30%' but individual contracts are confidential, so a hospital's actual negotiated rate and any retention guarantees cannot be independently verified.

Watch Signals

  • [Possible] DHS issues a categorical healthcare exemption or broadened case-by-case waiver policy for the $100,000 H-1B fee, following sustained pressure from over 100 House members as of February 2026 and pending litigation outcomes.
  • [Possible] The H-1Bs for Physicians and the Healthcare Workforce Act, introduced March 17, 2026, advances out of committee or receives a floor vote, which would materially lower hospital-side visa costs if enacted.
  • [Likely] Courts rule on the pending DC Circuit appeal and the 20-state lawsuit challenging the $100,000 H-1B fee's legality, given the preliminary injunction hearing scheduled for February 26, 2026.
  • [Possible] AMN Healthcare or other publicly traded staffing firms disclose international recruitment segment performance in upcoming quarterly filings, given the fee's disruption to H-1B-dependent placement volume.

Open Questions

  • What is the actual national aggregate hospital spend on international nurse recruitment agencies, legal fees, and relocation packages in a given fiscal year — no consolidated public figure currently exists?
  • How many hospitals have paused or cancelled H-1B nurse sponsorships specifically because of the $100,000 fee, beyond the individually reported case of Frederick Health's paused plan for up to 45 nurses?
  • What retention rate do internationally recruited nurses achieve over 3-5 years compared to domestically hired nurses, and does that retention differential offset the higher upfront sponsorship cost?
  • If the $100,000 H-1B fee is struck down or a healthcare exemption is enacted, how quickly would hospital H-1B sponsorship volume rebound, and would agencies pass any cost relief to hospital clients or retain it as margin?
medium uncertainty· model's epistemic confidence in this analysis

Facts & Figures (11)

The claims behind this analysis, each with its verification status — including what is contested, unverified, or could not be established.
U.S. hospitals and health systems → International nurse staffing agencies (e.g., O'Grady Peyton International, Avant Healthcare Professionals): Typically 20–30% of the nurse's first-year salary, per placement
Sourcing, screening, and coordinating overseas candidates and managing the placement process through licensure and immigration
FROM THE RECORDFee · basis: Industry sourcing on international nurse staffing fee structure (Nursa facility guide, 2026) · One-time per placement · Medium confidence
U.S. hospitals → U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS): $780 I-129 petition fee (up from $460); $215 H-1B registration fee (up from $10)
Filing and registering H-1B visa petitions for sponsored international nurses
FROM THE RECORDFee · basis: USCIS fee rule reported by Healthcare Brew, April 2024 · One-time per petition · High confidence
U.S. hospitals → U.S. Department of Homeland Security / U.S. Treasury: $100,000 per new H-1B petition
A supplemental federal fee on new H-1B visa petitions, with no confirmed categorical healthcare exemption as of March 2026
FROM THE RECORDFee · basis: Presidential proclamation effective September 21, 2025, reported by AP News and multiple outlets including Advisory.com (Feb 2026) and AHA News (March 2026) · One-time per new petition · High confidence
U.S. hospitals → Immigration law firms: Roughly $5,000–$10,000 in PERM-stage attorney fees for EB-3 sponsorship
Legal work on PERM labor certification, I-140 filing, and compliance for green-card-track nurse sponsorship
FROM THE RECORDFee · basis: 2026 EB-3 cost breakdown analysis (thegreencardprep.com) · One-time per sponsorship · Medium confidence
U.S. hospitals → U.S. Department of Labor / PERM recruitment advertising vendors: Roughly $500–$2,500 in PERM recruitment advertising costs
Mandatory domestic labor-market recruitment advertising required before EB-3 sponsorship, unless the nurse qualifies under Schedule A
FROM THE RECORDFee · basis: 2026 EB-3 cost breakdown analysis (thegreencardprep.com) · One-time per sponsorship · Medium confidence
Sponsored international nurse → CGFNS International (credential verification body): $350–$800 for CGFNS/VisaScreen; total CGFNS-related worker cost estimated at $1,910–$3,395 under the Schedule A path
Credential verification and visa-screen certification required for the nurse to obtain a U.S. work visa; some employers reimburse this as a sponsorship incentive
FROM THE RECORDFee · basis: Nursa facility guide (2026) and EB-3 cost breakdown (thegreencardprep.com, 2026) · One-time · Medium confidence
Sponsored international nurse → USCIS: I-485 fee $1,440; biometrics $85; I-693 medical exam $200–$500
Adjustment-of-status and permanent-residency processing fees legally borne by the worker under the EB-3 path
FROM THE RECORDFee · basis: 2026 EB-3 cost breakdown analysis (thegreencardprep.com) · One-time · Medium confidence
U.S. hospitals → Relocation and housing vendors: Roughly $5,000 (urban, basic travel) to $15,000+ (rural, full package) per nurse
Flights, temporary housing, and orientation costs for newly arrived international nurses
FROM THE RECORDFee · basis: Nursa facility guide (2026), qualitative sourcing on employer-paid relocation packages · One-time · Low confidence
U.S. hospitals → Travel/agency nurse staffing firms (as the comparative alternative): Average $91/hour, ranging to $160/hour for travel nurse labor, vs. roughly $41.38/hour average for staff RNs
Premium hourly rates paid to travel/contract nurses to fill shifts that would otherwise go vacant, the financial baseline against which international recruitment is compared
FROM THE RECORDFee · basis: 2026 NSI National Health Care Retention & RN Staffing Report; Bureau of Labor Statistics 2024 average RN wage as cited in industry cost comparison (VSH) · Recurring · High confidence
U.S. hospitals (opportunity cost) → No direct recipient — absorbed as operating loss: $60,090 average cost per bedside RN turnover; $4.2M–$6.2M annual hospital-wide loss
The financial baseline cost of an unfilled RN position or turnover event that international recruitment is intended to reduce
FROM THE RECORDOther · basis: 2026 NSI National Health Care Retention & RN Staffing Report (survey of 527 acute care hospitals across 40 states) · Annual · High confidence
AMN Healthcare and competing staffing conglomerates → Hospital clients (as recipient of placement services, inverse flow): O'Grady Peyton International: ~$130.6M revenue; Avant Healthcare Professionals: ~$73.9M revenue
Aggregate scale of the international nurse recruitment agency business as a standalone revenue channel
FROM THE RECORDRevenue · basis: ZoomInfo/RocketReach company data aggregation (2026); flagged as third-party estimate, not an SEC-filed segment figure for the current period · Annual · Low confidence

Sources (40)

More health research
Grounded in 40 web sources · 11 facts on the ledger · 11 partial or attributed · how the grades work
Analysis generated by WorldbyFlow from publicly available information. WorldbyFlow does not verify claims or endorse conclusions. New here? The two-minute overview.